“I’m not au fait with the big picture”

“I’m not au fait with the big picture,”

Says the train guard

Disconsolate that his train is late.

He’s talking of Southern Railways.

I too am not au fait with the big picture

Of Southern Railways.

I’m sure that nobody is

Not the top boss

Not God himself.

 

But who is au fait with any big picture?

I think of the biggest picture:

Why are we here?

Wat are we here for?

Where are we going?

I’m not au fait with that big picture,

But nor, pretend as they might,

Are the Pope or Aristotle.

 

The train guard is disconsolate

That he is not au fait with the big picture

Of Southern Railways.

He doesn’t, I suspect,

Care about the biggest picture.

He wouldn’t aspire to be au fait with that.

“I’m only a train guard,

If I can’t be au fait with the big picture

Of Southern Railways

How can I be au fait with the biggest picture?”

 

He can’t, and nor can I.

And do I care? I don’t.

I couldn’t bear to be au fait with the biggest picture

Think of the responsibility.

The endless explanations.

No, that’s not for me.

One thought on ““I’m not au fait with the big picture”

  1. Our memes have evolved to the stage where we have to have a picture of the big picture to enjoy the tocothanalogical interval, It doesn’t matter what that picture is,, if it seems plausible to us we are satisfied, Unless or until some other big picture happens to satisfy us more. Once we have our big picture we can devote our attention to our own train guarding,

    Like

Leave a Reply

