“The last time I saw Richard…” a game for all ages

Beth, my brother’s partner, emails me to describe the great hilarity she and Brian/Arthur enjoyed making up the next lines to Joni Mitchell’s, melancholic 60s song, The last time I saw Richard

Their efforts:

“The last time I saw Richard he was giving a talk about healthcare in Bangladesh and rereading seven volumes of À la recherche de la temps perdu.”

“The last time I saw Richard he was sampling a little grappa and drinking red wine at his Clapham table – Clapham tay-able”…

“The last time I saw Richard he was getting up at five to read Voltaire and going on a 20 mile hike and thinking about death.”

My efforts:

“The last time I saw Richard he was at the BMA’s Finance and General Purposes Committee but wished he was curled up with Trollope and feasting on whelks.”

“The last time I saw Beth she was on her eighth glass of champagne and doing the splits while imitating Theresa May playing Richard III”

“The last time I saw Brian he was on a Bus Replacement Service on his way to compere a funeral for the long lost uncle of his favourite greengrocer.”

This is a game that anybody can play.

  1. Just in case you’re interested the actual lines are:

“The last time I saw Richard was Detroit in ’68/And he told me all romantics meet the same fate someday/Cynical and drunk and boring someone in some dark café.”

Joni

 

One thought on ““The last time I saw Richard…” a game for all ages

Leave a Reply

